This guide will assist students in ENGL 103 and other literature classes seeking criticism on drama, short stories, and poetry.

EBSCOhost Databases

Locate Online Journal Articles with EBSCO's
Academic Search Complete and MagillOnLiterature Plus Databases

CONTENTS:

  • A multidisciplinary database for academic publications including peer-reviewed journals, and a literary database. 
  • Provides full-text articles, literary works, reviewed critical analyses, and brief plot summaries. 

 

INSTRUCTIONS: 

1. From the library homepage, under GUIDES, click on EBSCO. (See Remote Access box for username and password).

2. Add a check to MagillOnLiterature Plus. Then click Continue.

3. Type the name of your work in the search box and add the author's last name to the next search box. 

4. Make sure to check the Full Text and Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals boxes.
(NOTE:Remove Scholarly Journals box if results are too few)

 

5. Use the following example to design the search for biography (just author's name) or criticism (add title of work) on your story.
 

 

 

 

6. Add search terms

NOTE: Truncation. Add an asterisk * to the root of a search term for all forms of a word, ex. symbol*=symbolic, symbolizes, symbolically, etc.

 7.  Check Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals box and click Update.

Peer-reviewed journals are publications that include only those articles that have been reviewed and/or qualified by a selected panel of acknowledged experts in the field of study covered by the journal.

 8. Click Show More for even more Search OptionsNarrow by document type

Academic Search Premier has it's own set of Special Limiters. Under Document Type, select Literary Criticism for an even more narrow search (see below). MagillOnLiterature Plus has it's own as well. When looking for author information, limit to Author Biographies or Work Analyses.

 

 

 



       

9. Limit by Subject.

Check boxes next to related library subject headings (author's name and title of story.)

10. Click on a relevant article. 

Some are offered in HTML, some PDF, some both. All HTML articles have Translate and Listen options.

 

11. Check Cross References at the end of articles for related articles on an author or work.

For Dr. Salwak's students looking for biographic information, limit results by SOURCE TYPE for author searches

 

12. Use Tools on right of article to Print, E-mail, Save, Cite and more.

Citations are sent in MLA format as a default. APA and Chicago are also available. 

For more information about citations, click the Citations tab above. 

13. NOTE: Double check citations before emailing or printing. Make sure the author of the article is not the author him/herself and that the titles are not in ALL CAPS

14. When emailing, leave a comment/message to yourself about why you selected the article.

 

 

Library Databases

Go to A-Z Database List


why use library databases


tutorials

To learn more about how to use the library databases, go to Database Tutorials.


remote access

Currently registered students, faculty and staff may access the library databases off-campus by Signing In to the campus network.

Understanding Shakespeare

Hayden Memorial Library at Citrus College │ 1000 West Foothill Blvd. Glendora, CA 91741-1899 │ (626) 963-0323 │ A to Z Index my.citruscollege.edu Student Account Issues

Powered by Springshare LibApps Login