This guide will assist students in ENGL 103 and other literature classes seeking criticism on drama, short stories, and poetry.

Gale Literary Sources

When using the Advanced Search in Gale Literary Sources database, enter the name of the story in the Name of Work field and the author of the story in the Person-By or About field.

To narrow your search more, you may enter a specific topic or theme in the 3rd field (make sure you change it to Entire Document). See example.

advanced search graphic

Advanced Search Example

limit search by example

If you decide not to use the Entire Document field, you may enter your theme or topic in the Limit Search by field within the results.

 

To learn more about search strategies using:

  • Truncation (e.g., symbol*)
  • Boolean Operators (e.g., and, or, not)
  • Keyword vs Subject

Go to http://libguides.citruscollege.edu/tips

Search Tips

Make sure you are finding criticism about your story, poem or play, not a collection of poetry or plays by the same name.

Ex. "Woman Hollering Creek" (short story in quotation marks)

Ex. Woman Hollering Creek (collection of stories in italics)

Library Databases

Go to A-Z Database List


why use library databases


tutorials

To learn more about how to use the library databases, go to Database Tutorials.


remote access

Currently registered students, faculty and staff may access the library databases off-campus by Signing In to the campus network.

Hayden Memorial Library at Citrus College │ 1000 West Foothill Blvd. Glendora, CA 91741-1899 │ (626) 963-0323 │ A to Z Index my.citruscollege.edu Student Account Issues

Powered by Springshare LibApps Login