This guide will assist students in ENGL 103 and other literature classes seeking criticism on drama, short stories, and poetry.

Hamlet Resources

The library catalog provides a variety of titles with literary criticism. See example below to see some of them.

   

Example:

Type Hamlet Criticism or Shakespeare Criticism in the catalog's search box. Then, on the results page, select the Print Book and eBook formats to refine your search.

Hayden Memorial Library provides collections of reference criticism books through Gale Literary Index. These collections are located in the Reference Area on the first floor. Below are some reference titles for Hamlet.

When using EBSCOhost add the MagillOn Literature Plus database to find more literary criticism sources.

 

add magillonliterature plus graphic

 

Example:

In the search fields, type the name of the work and the author of the work in the first and second fields. You may enter a specific term or terms in the third field to narrow down your search. Also, remember to use the Limit To feature.

hamlet example limit to graphic

When using the Advanced Search in Gale Literary Sources database, enter the name of the story in the Name of Work field and the author of the story in the Person-By or About field. To limit your search more, use the Search within results feature and enter a specific term(s). Note: Look for critical essays.

Learn more about search strategies, go to http://libguides.citruscollege.edu/tips.

    

films on demand hamlet example

The following titles are located at the AV Department on the 2nd floor.

This JSTOR database allows you to search Shakespeare's works line by line to see what has been written. Please note, if the library does not have access to a particular article that you need we are happy to find it in another database or order it from another library. 

Hayden Memorial Library at Citrus College │ 1000 West Foothill Blvd. Glendora, CA 91741-1899 │ (626) 963-0323 │ A to Z Index my.citruscollege.edu Student Account Issues

Powered by Springshare LibApps Login