Answers to common questions about streaming video.

Public Services Librarian

How to Get a Public Library Card for Hoolpa

Films of Interest

Ice on Fire

Ice on Fire (2019)

This HBO film focuses on solutions to slow down our escalating climate crisis, going beyond the current narrative and offering hope. 

Target: Philadelphia

Target: Philadelphia (2020)

Explores the rise of police militarization within the contexts of Black nationalism and the Black Lives Matter movement.

Mask You Live In

The Mask You Live In (2015)

Follows boys and young men as they struggle to stay true to themselves while negotiating America's narrow definition of masculinity.

Gene

The Gene: An Intimate History - Pt. One (2020)

Interweaves the story of the thrilling revolution in modern genetic science with powerful stories from the frontlines of medicine. 

Paris Je T'aime (2007)

Paris Je T'aime (2007)

Set against a romantic Parisian backdrop, twenty filmmakers explore the many faces of love in this delightful anthology film.

OneSearch Logo Blue Two ToneOneSearch

Use OneSearch to search for books, eBooks, articles (from magazines, newspapers, and journals), streaming videos, DVDs, CDs, images, and more, all in a single search. OneSearch cross searches most Library Databases at the same time. OneSearch can be accessed from the Library website! Films on Demand content will appear in OneSearch. 

Films in Demand LogoFinding Videos

What is it?

Films on Demand is an online library of streaming videos including the Master Academic and Nursing collections, as well as hundreds of HBO Documentary Films, with new titles added regularly.  Access thousands of high-quality educational streaming videos and video segments on a wide range of subjects. 

How do I create an account?

1. Access Films on Demand from the library's A-Z Databases page.
2. Login with your Canvas login (if off-campus), students, faculty and staff can create a personal user account.

3. Locate "Your Profile" in the upper right corner of the screen. Then, click "New user? Sign up."

4. Select subjects of interest and choose to receive monthly new title or general newsletter emails (Optional).

What are the benefits of doing this?

  • Save content for easy reference and save searches for quick access
  • Curate lists of films and segments that can be shared with other users
  • Create quizzes with questions inserted into key film points
  • Control user settings, including playback rate and automatic startup of closed captioning
  • Subscribe to content update emails in selected subject areas

Tips

Use Films on Demand's "Advanced Search" then filter by copyright dates, to limit films produced within a certain time period. Results can also be filtered by producer (i.e. HBO, PBS, etc.).

Films on Demand Support Page

What is it?

Kanopy is currently a Pay Per Use (PPU) resource for Citrus College (as of Nov. 2019). Users have access to a large collection of films including ones the library has licensed. The library primarily licenses films from Kanopy that are unavailable elsewhere. If you find a film in both Films on Demand and Kanopy, please notify a librarian

How does it work?
Users have access to a large collection of films and the library pays per $2 per play unless we have purchased a 12-month license. If you anticipate assigning ANY a film during the academic year, we strongly recommend submitting a request for a license before your students begin playing the film. Purchasing a license is a way to maintain sustainability of this collection. Outside of a purchased license, all plays are $2 each. As we evaluate the sustainability of Kanopy, the model we adopt may change. 

How do I create an account?

A personal account with Kanopy is required to view content. See login tutorial. 

1. Go to Kanopy. 
2. Select "Log In", then "Log in to Citrus College" (use your Canvas login).

3. Create your account using your Citrus email address.

4. Check email to verify address. 

What are the benefits of doing this?

  • Allows you to add films to your watchlist and add comments
  • Lets you curate your own playlists of films and clips, that can be shared with your students via Canvas, email, social media or your website
  • Gives you control of user settings including playback and close captioning

Tips

Kanopy is also available for free to those with a Los Angeles County Public Library digital library card.  (see LA County Library's online FAQ) The public library Kanopy collections vary from the academic library collections so check first before assigning titles. 

What is it?

3C Media Solutions is the educational media distribution source for video content, podcasts, streaming services, and event coverage for the 114 campuses of the California Community Colleges System. (Account Required)

How do I create an account?
Faculty and staff of the California Community Colleges System may create an account (free of charge).

1. Go to 3C Media Solutions.
2. Select "Register" in the upper right hand corner.

3. Select "Create a New Account."

4. Complete the form (be sure to include your Citrus College email address).

What are the benefits of doing this?

  • Personal account for uploading and storing media
  • Ability to share media privately or publicly (embed, email link, or post to the 3C site)
  • Option to create a 'group' for joint access
  • Request captioning for your instructional videos in a few short, simple steps

Tips

Unlimited free cloud storage for California Community College instructors.
Store and organize all of your instructional videos and streaming media including digital titles purchased by you or your department for student use. 
Individual file size maximum is 1GB. 

Swank Digital Campus LogoWhat is it?

Swank Digital Campus enables ART 199 faculty to provide streaming access (via Canvas) to feature films and documentaries released by most major studios to support the course. Our subscription provides access up to 25 films at a time per year. Each film is licensed for a one year term. 

  • SWANK Digital Campus

Mediated online access to course-related, recently released, and classic feature films from most major studios (except 20th Century Fox). 

How do I create an account? 

1. ART 199 students access Swank from their Canvas course shell. 
2. Log in with Canvas credentials. 

3. Indicate your role and complete the registration process. 

What are the benefits of doing this?

  • ART faculty can request films for consideration via Dr. Besancon
  • ART 199 students will have 24/7 access to course content 

Tips

Enter a film title into Google Image Search to find film posters and DVD covers for Canvas

HooplaWhat is it?
Hoopla Digital Films & TV Shows is a digital media service offered by your city or county public library that allows you to borrow movies, music, audiobooks, ebooks, comics and TV shows to enjoy on your computer, tablet, or phone - and even your TV! 

How do I create an account?

1. Go to Hoopla Digital Films & TV Shows 
2. Create an account (Citrus email address not required)
3. Search for a nearby library and select it.

4. Enter your library card number and PIN to sign up.

If you don't have a library card yet, select the link to obtain a library card online from your selected library. You can apply for a Digital Library Card from the Los Angeles County Public Library or contact a local branch.

What are the benefits of doing this? 

  • Expands your access to access to a wide variety of streaming media and other library resources and services for all ages.  
  • Provides supplementary content that Citrus College does not have access to. 

Tips

Hoopla collections and borrowing limits may vary by public library. 
Search by user rating, release date, date added and language as well as children's titles. 
 

NetFlix LogoWhat is it?

NetFlix provides access to a selection of free, educational documentaries and series available for educators to use this students. 

How do I access this content?

1. Go to NetFlix US YouTube Channel

2. Select the documentary you wish to view and it will begin playing. 

These selections are freely available on the NetFlix US YouTube Channel. No login is required.   

What are the benefits of doing this? 

  • Expand access to content to students without requiring a NetFlix subscription. 
  • Access educational resources for each film, which can be used by both students and teachers.

Tips

These documentaries are available in English. Subtitles are available. Embed this content in Canvas for students. 

A la Carte Titles

If the library cannot acquire a digital film through our current vendors, film licenses can be purchased on an "a la carte" basis directly through the distributor and hosted on an existing platform. The following digital film licenses have been acquired and are are available via the hosting site listed. If not perpetual, expiration date is listed.  

Search the Alexander Street catalog for more a la carte titles. Contact Sarah Bosler to inquire about acquisitions.  

Hayden Memorial Library at Citrus College │ 1000 West Foothill Blvd. Glendora, CA 91741-1899 │ (626) 963-0323 │ A to Z Index my.citruscollege.edu Student Account Issues

Powered by Springshare LibApps Login