Locate Online Journal Articles with EBSCO's
Academic Search Premier, and Commnication & Mass Media Complete Databases 

CONTENTS:

• A multidisciplnary database for academic publications inncluding peer-reviewed journals, and a literary database. 
• Provides full-text articles, literary works, reviewed criticial analysesm and brief plot summaries. 

 

INSTRUCTIONS: 

1. From the library homepage, select Databases, then select search multiple EBSCO databases. 

2. Add a check to Communication and Mass Media Complete and MagillOnLiterature Plus. Then click Continue.

3. Type the name of your work in the search box and add the author's last name to the next search box. 

2. Use the following example to design the search for criticism on your story. (NOTE: Once you get to the results page, add the director or producer's name like the example below.) Results will automatically limit the search to full-text articles.

 

 

 

 

3. Add search terms

NOTE: Truncation. Add an asterisk * to the root of a search term for all forms of a word, ex. symbol*=symbolic, symbolizes, symbolically, etc.

 4.  Check Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals box (optional) and click Update.

Peer-reviewed journals are publications that include only those articles that have been reviewed and/or qualified by a selected panel of acknowledged experts in the field of study covered by the journal.

 5. Click Show More for even more Search Options. Narrow by document type. 

Each database has it's own set of Special Limiters. Under Document Type, select Work Analysis (optional) for an even more narrow search (see below).

 

 

 

 

6. Limit by Subject.

Check boxes next to related library subject headings (film title at minimum).

7. Click on a relevant article. 

Some are offered in HTML, some PDF, some both. All HTML articles have Translate and Listen options.

8. Use Tools on right of article to Print, E-mail, Save, Cite and more.

Citations are sent in MLA format as a default. 

For more information about citations, click the Citations tab above. 

9. NOTE: Double check citations before emailing or printing. Make sure the title or authors are not in ALL CAPS. 

10. When emailing, leave a comment/message to yourself about why you selected the article.

 

 

 

Currently registered students, faculty and staff may access databases and their library account 24/7.
See this page for more information.

Sign In to our new OneSearch interface to

• view/renew your loans,
• requests, favorites, search history, 
• and access e-resources 24/7

Username: Citrus email address (before @) 
Password: Citrus email password (CcMMDDYYYY unless you have changed it)

There are 65 journals in EBSCO and Gale Litearture Resource Center. Here are a few selected titles. 

Film & History
3/1/1971-Present - Communication & Mass Media Complete 
3/1/1997-Present - Literature Resource Center

Film Criticism
3/1/1976-Present - Academic Search Premier
3/1/1997-Present - Literature Resource Center

Historical journal on film, radio and television
3/1/1990 - 18 months ago - Communication & Mass Media Complete

Journal of film and video
3/1/2000 - Present  Communication & Mass Media Complete

Literature film quarterly
1/1/1973 - Present - Academic Search Premier and Communication & Mass Media
1/1/2005 - Present - Literature Resource Center

Check out the guided tutorials links below for EBSCOhost.