This course guide will help ETHN 101 students find audiovisual, print and online sources for research assignments.

EBSCOhost Databases

Locate Online Journal Articles with EBSCO's
Academic Search Premier and MasterFILE Premier Databases

CONTENTS:

  • A multidisciplnary database for academic publications inncluding peer-reviewed journals, and a literary database. 
  • Provides full-text articles, literary works, reviewed criticial analyses, and brief plot summaries. 

 

INSTRUCTIONS: 

1. From the library homepage, select Databases, then select muliple EBSCO databases. 

2. Add a check to any relevent collections (History Reference Center, Mass Media and Communication, Psychology & Behavioral Sciences, etc. Then click Continue.

3. Type your keywords into the search box.

4. Use the following example to design the search for your topic. Results will automatically limit the search to full-text articles.

 

 

 

 

5. Add search terms

NOTE: Truncation. Add an asterisk * to the root of a search term for all forms of a word, ex. symbol*=symbolic, symbolizes, symbolically, etc.

 6.  Check Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals box and click Update.

Peer-reviewed journals are publications that include only those articles that have been reviewed and/or qualified by a selected panel of acknowledged experts in the field of study covered by the journal.

 7. Click Show More for even more Search OptionsNarrow by document type

 

 

8. Limit by Subject.

Check boxes next to related library subject headings.

9. Click on a relevant article. 

Some are offered in HTML, some PDF, some both. All HTML articles have Translate and Listen options.

10. Use Tools on right of article to Print, E-mail, Save, Cite and more.

Citations are sent in MLA format as a default. APA and Chicago are also available. 

For more information about citations, click the Citations tab above. 

11. NOTE: Double check citations before emailing or printing. Make sure the article title is not in ALL CAPS

12. When emailing, leave a comment/message to yourself about why you selected the article.

 

MLA
(Modern Language Assoc.)
Works Cited

Taylor, Charles R., and Barbara B. Stern. “Asian-Americans: Television Advertising and the ‘Model Minority’ Stereotype.” Journal of Advertising, vol. 26, no. 2, Summer 1997, pp. 47–61. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1080/00913367.1997.10673522.

 

Access Resources 24/7

key

Currently registered students, faculty and staff may access databases and their library account 24/7.
See this page for more information.

Sign In to our new OneSearch interface to

  • view/renew your loans,
  • requests, favorites, search history, 
  • and access e-resources 24/7

Username: Citrus email address (before @) 
Password: Citrus email password (CcMMDDYYYY unless you have changed it)

Hayden Memorial Library at Citrus College │ 1000 West Foothill Blvd. Glendora, CA 91741-1899 │ (626) 963-0323 │ A to Z Index my.citruscollege.edu Student Account Issues

Powered by Springshare LibApps Login