Media - ETHN 101 - Introduction to Ethnic Studies - Research Guides at Hayden Memorial Library

Select Media Items

16th & 17th century turning points in U.S. history [videorecording]
Chronicles decisive events in the crucial colonial period that would lead to the founding of the United States of America.
18th century turning points in U.S. history [videorecording]
19th century turning points in U.S. history [videorecording]
America entered the 19th century an agricultural nation of 16 states and 5.3 million people. These dvd's explore 3 wars and leave the century as an industrial power of 45 states and 76 million people.
500 nations [videorecording]
500 Nations is an eight-part documentary that looks back at life in North America before the arrival of the Europeans, then follows the epic struggles of Indian Nations as the continent is reshaped by contact.
A DVD history of the U.S. Constitution [videorecording]
DVD 5 includes (1848) Mexican American War and Manifest Destiny Set up America's Greatest Constitutional Crisis
Journey to planet Earth [DVD videorecording]
DVD 4 Covers MEXICAN/U.S. BORDER: In some of the most isolated regions in North America, every day thousands of migrants attempt to cross the harsh desert into the United States risking everything in search of a decent livelihood for themselves and their families.
The unfinished nation. Part II [videorecording]
DVD 27 Explores the convergence of cultures in the American West and the contrasting experiences of Native Americans, Spanish-speaking communities of Mexican Americans, Chinese immigrants, and African Americans. The Homestead Act encourages a flood of new settlers and leads to near annihilation for many Indian cultures.

Streaming Video

The Library provides access to several streaming video platforms that have documentaries and other video material relevant to ethnic studies.

Academic Video Online (AVON)
Academic Video Online is a comprehensive video subscription. It delivers 80,000+ titles spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Films on Demand
Master Academic Collection of streaming video covering business, economics, humanities, social sciences, science, math, nursing, health, medicine, archive films and newsreels. Core Nursing Collection includes additional content from Current Concepts and Practices Collection (Closed Captioned)
Kanopy Streaming Video Service - See Films on Demand for more
Watch thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases. See Login Tutorial FACULTY: Check Films on Demand first before assigning titles in Kanopy. Please use FOD if you have a choice.

Physical Media Resources

Locate Media Resources

You can find Media items by selecting Physical Location: 2nd Floor Media from the left sidebar of your search results listing. Media items can be in DVD, VHS, or Blueray format and held here in the Library or can be streamed from one of our film databases. Films we have at the library may be checked out to watch at home or on campus in our 2nd Floor Media Rooms.

On the Web

Racelighting
This website provides information about racelighting, an act of psychological manipulation where Black, Indigenous, and People of Color (BIPOC) receive racial messages that distort their realities and lead them to second-guess themselves.
Kristina Wong
Wong a nationally presented solo performer, writer, actor, educator, culture jammer, and filmmaker.
Sarah Jones Online
A playwright, poet, actor and activist based in New York City. Includes a performance calendar, links to press clippings and merchandise.

Select Media Titles

George Lopez: America's Mexican
Call Number: DVD 792.76 G347 2007
George Lopez: tall, dark & Chicano
Call Number: DVD 792.76 G347 2009
The color of fear [videorecording] : a film
Examines the pain and anguish that racism has caused in the lives of North American men of Asian, European, Latin and African descent.
Slavery and the making of America [videorecording]
We shall remain [videorecording] : America through native eyes
In the white man's image [videorecording]
Tells the story of the attempt to assimilate American Indians into white culture by educating them at special schools such as the Carlisle School for Indians.
Roots [videorecording] : the complete collection.
A class divided [videorecording]
Crash [videorecording]
Good Hair
Call Number: DVD 391.5 G646 2009
Kill the messenger
Call Number: DVD 792.76 R682 2009