Article Databases - Resources - Nursing - Research Guides at Hayden Memorial Library

EBSCO provides a collection of databases that you can search individually (see links below) or you can search multiple databases at once. Add a check to any additional collections you wish to include in your search. (Login Required)

Academic Search Complete *
EBSCO multi-disciplinary database for academic publications, since 1975, including peer-reviewed journals, and images.
MEDLINE *
Abstracts and indexes in biomedical, dentistry, health care system, medicine, nursing, pre-clinical sciences and more. Annual in Dec.
Alt HealthWatch *
EBSCO health care and wellness journals from 1990 covering complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care.
Health Source Consumer *
Topics include behavioral health, childcare, food sciences & nutrition, medical sciences, sports medicine, and general health. Includes Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.
Health Source Nursing/Academic *
Includes scholarly medical, nursing and allied health journals, including Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers generic drug patient education sheets complete with brand names

What are we looking for?

Consider the pyramid to be a visual representation of the entirety of clinical biomedical information. Resources at the bottom of the pyramid are plentiful but are not necessarily Evidence-Based in their approach or findings. Moving up the pyramid, resources are developed using more robust methodology which lessens bias and leads to stronger Evidence-Based findings but are fewer in number.

Search Tips for EBSCO:

Start with 2-4 keywords/phrases (use quotation marks for 2+ word phrases)
Add terms and change drop down to Subject terms to limit results
Adjust AND/OR/NOT options on the left side to limit or expand results
Check the scholarly/peer reviewed box
Adjust publication date to last five years or less
Consider using Special Limiters for each database as needed

Special Limiters for Health Source: Nursing Academic Ed.

Special Limiters for MEDLINE