Research Guides: Econ 101 Discussion Board: Articles & Websites

CountryWatch Database

CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Contains up-to-date economic, political, and social data about every country on the globe. See Intelligence for Country Reviews and Country Forecasts (Macroeconomic) and more.

Select a country to view under Country Reviews (top left of page)

country overview,
political overview,
economic overview,
investment overview,
and more.

Select Country Forecasts (top of page in the Intelligence Zone) to view

Download Excel data or view a detailed PDF report which provides a forecast (through 2035) of trends for each of the numerous Macroeconomic sub-models. Includes

Nominal GDP and Components
Popular and GDP per Capita
Popular GDP and Inflation
Government spending and taxation
Money supply, interest rates and unemployment
Foreign trade and exchange rate
Data in US Dollars

Key Databases for Journal and Newspaper Articles

EBSCOhost - Multiple Databases This link opens in a new window
Includes U.S. News & World Report in the Academic Search Complete & Business Source Elite
U.S. Major Dailies (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, co-exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal, and exclusive access to Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The titles offer researchers thorough and timely coverage of local, regional, and world events with journalistic balance and perspective. The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985. (Expires 6/30/24)

Academic Search Complete
Business Source Elite
MasterFILE Complete
Newspaper Source Plus
WebNews

Tips to limit your results:

Add keywords
Limit publication date to last 5-10 years
Limit by scholarly/peer reviewed articles

Free Websites & Periodicals

CIA World Factbook

Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
An online database consisting of hundreds of thousands of economic data time series from scores of national, international, public, and private sources.
FRED Tutorials

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics

Key News Sources

The Economist (1998-present)
Full text of the weekly print version and extra articles from the web-only offerings of the publication are available via Gale's Opposing Viewpoints. Search within publication (top right) to find articles on your topic.