eBooks - CHLD 164 - The Child with Special Needs - Research Guides at Hayden Memorial Library

Electronic Books (eBooks)

Locate eBooks

The library catalog includes over 20,000 ebook titles. You can locate ebooks by searching these individual collections:

EBSCO eBook Collection

Gale eBooks

In addition you can use the OneSearch box on the Hayden Library homepage. Search example below.

Gale eBooks (formerly called Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

INSTRUCTIONS:

1. From the library's home page, under the OneSearch box, click on Databases. Click on "G" and select Gale eBooks.

2. Try the following Advanced Search or create your own search. You can leave the KEYWORD or change for a more broad search use ALL TEXT. NOTE: Use asterisk * for all forms of the word, ex. psych* = psychology, psychological, psychobiology, psychosocial, etc.

3. Document Title- searches your keywords anywhere in the title of an article. Keyword (first paragraph)

4. (Optional) Limit "to collection" (drop down menu) Social Science.

5. Browse through the results and click on ones that pertain to your topic.

6. Filter your results (right side options) and "Search within" or select a Publication title

7. To hear an audio version of the article, click

8. NOTE: Search for a word on any web page by holding down the Control and F keys on a PC, Apple and F on a Mac.

9. Citations are available at the bottom of each article. MLA is the default citation format so when emailing, change it to APA. The APA citation will be sent to you when you email articles.

10. Use the Tools bar to cite, send to Google drive, OneDrive or email, download, print, or get a Permalink. You can also higlight and take notes.

Databases

A-Z Database list
Complete list of subscription databases. Use the drop down menus to select databases by Subject or Database type.
Academic Search Complete
Contains seventy titles specific to the nursing discipline, and over 2,200 health and medicine journals. This multi-disciplinary database provides full text journals, including peer-reviewed titles.

EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains a wide selection of academic over 54,000 e-books from top publishers and presses. Searchable, printable pages or sections. Many chapters are downloadable and can be read offline. Title access ranges from single, three, or unlimited simultaneous users. Close title, when you are finished using to increase usability. For mobile access to ebooks, download the EBSCO app
ERIC This link opens in a new window
(1966-) Educational Resources Information Center’s documents.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Master Academic Collection of streaming video covering business, economics, humanities, social sciences, science, math, nursing, health, medicine, archive films and newsreels. Core Nursing Collection includes additional content from Current Concepts and Practices Collection (Closed Captioned)
Health Source Consumer This link opens in a new window
Topics include behavioral health, childcare, food sciences & nutrition, medical sciences, sports medicine, and general health.
Primary Search This link opens in a new window
K-6 focus for magazines and articles from 1990 forward with Lexile reading level included.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences This link opens in a new window
Primarily peer-reviewed journals dating back to 1965 and covering anthropology, emotional characteristics, mental processes, and observational and experimental methods.

Access Resources 24/7

Currently registered students, faculty and staff may access databases and their library account 24/7.
See this page for more information.

view/renew your loans,
requests, favorites, search history,
and access e-resources 24/7

Username: Citrus email address (before @)
Password: Citrus email password (CcMMDDYYYY unless you have changed it)

eBooks about People with Disabilities

The radical lives of Helen Keller [electronic resource]
Several decades after her death in 1968, Helen Keller remains one of the most widely recognized women of the twentieth century. But the fascinating story of her vivid political life—particularly her interest in radicalism and anti-capitalist activism—has been largely overwhelmed by the sentimentalized story of her as a young deaf-blind girl.
A deaf adult speaks out
Call Number: 305.9 J17d
The thought that counts : a firsthand account of one teenager's experience with obsessive-compulsive disorder
Part memoir, part educational self-help tool, this book lives up to the double entendre embodied in the title. Kant tells of his life as an uptight junior high student who found that his obsessions were beyond the realm of the ordinary and placed him in the approximately one percent of the population with obsessive-compulsive disorder. Blessed with loving, affluent parents, he was sent to the best doctors, therapists, and even a boarding school where he received the support and therapy he needed

EBSCO eBook Collection Tutorial

Check out the guided tutorial link below for EBSCOhost.

eBooks on EBSCOhost-Searching (3:37)

Gale eBooks Tutorial

Check out the guided tutorial link below for Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL).

Gale eBooks Guided Tutorial (8 mins)
Closed Captioning available.