Research Guides: Business Research: Advertising

BUS 192 Resources

The library offers a few key resources for BUS 192. See below for search tips for the following databases:

Business Source Premier
U.S. Newsstream
Annual Report Websites
Encyclopedia articles from library ebooks

Key Databases

Business Source Premier
Provides full text for 2,000+ business publications including peer-reviewed journals. More than 14,500 substantial company profile from Datamonitor are included as well as 75,000+ Associated Press videos. Daily updates.

1. In Business Source Premier, select Company Profiles at the top, then add the company name in the search box. You can also browse the A-Z listings. Notice the Location and Industry columns.

2. Select the PDF of the MarketLine Report to locate:

Company Overview
Key Facts
Business Description
History
Key Employees & Biographies
SWOT Analysis
Top Competitors
Company View
Locations and Subsidiaries

3. Email article to yourself using the Tools option on the right.

Make sure to select APA as the format before you email.

4. Cite your sources in APA 7th ed. format. Use the Tools on the right side of the PDF or abstract page. If no date is included in the citation, refer to the document itself where you might find one. For the URL, use the Permalink in the article record. Example: (don't forget to use a hanging indent.)

Starbucks Corporation. (2023, April 2023). Company Profile. Business Source Premier. http://ezproxy.citruscollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=dmhco&AN=E86AFA79-07E1-4115-AA0C-0016416541FE&site=ehost-live&scope=site

5. Refine your Results (on the left side of your results page) To limit Source Types to Industry Profiles, Product Reviews, SWOT Analysis and others types.

U.S. Newsstream
Access to hundreds of full-text newspapers on the ProQuest interface with same day publication access to over 250 titles. Includes current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. Provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. and includes exclusive and preferred access to top titles, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.

1. Add the title of the company or industry in the search box.

2. Limit by publication date if you want o find recent articles.

3. Limit by Document Type to find annual reports, company profiles, industry report, market report, market research, statistics/data report (check all that apply)

Annual Reports

AnnualReports.com
Links to annual reports for publicly owned companies, and company Websites. Under Business you will find products, markets and distribution, and competition.
Dun & Bradstreet Business Directory
Company Profiles available. Limited info. for free: Company overview and Financial Statements
Franchise 500
From the publishers of Entrepreneur Magazine. Franchise information including rankings, startup costs, and web addresses.

Encyclopedia Articles

Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Strategies (4v. 2019)
Call Number: Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

Search all 18 business ebooks in Gale eBook Collection
Including Encyclopedia of Emerging Markets (2023), American Industries (2018), Major Marketing Strategies (2019).