celebrating women's history month

Books

Quotes

Quote connects to the Gale eBooks database.

Quote connects to the Gale eBooks database.

Quote connects to the Gale eBooks database.

Quote connects to the Gale eBooks database.

Quote connects to the Gale eBooks database.

Quote connects to the Gale eBooks database.

Quote connects to the Gale eBooks database.

Quote connects to the Gale eBooks database.

Women You Should Know About (But Probably Don't)

Martha Moore Ballard
Martha Moore Ballard (February 9, 1735 - June 9, 1812) was an American midwife and diarist. Her diaries were published as A Midwife's Tale: The Life of Martha Ballard based on her diary, 1785–1812. Martha is one of the reasons that we know so much about that time period. She was also very accomplished in the medical field. 

Murasaki Shikibu

Mrasaki Shikibu (c. 973 or 978 – c. 1014 or 1031) was a Japanese novelist and poet. Her book, The Tale of the Genji, is widely thought to be the world's oldest full novel and one of the greatest works of Japanese literature. 

 

Beulah Louise Henry

Beulah Louise Henry (September 28, 1887 – February 1973) was know as "Lady Edison." In a time when invention and science were fields dominated by men, Beulah received 49 patents and had over 110 inventions credited to her including the vacuum ice cream freezer and a bobbin-less sewing machine.

Mary Jane Richards

Mary Jane Richards

Mary Jane Richards (c. 1840-unknown) was born into slavery and risked her life as part of the pro-Union espionage ring that infiltrated Confederate President Jefferson Davis' home. Mary Jane sent important documents and plans to Union leaders. 

Bessie Coleman

Bessie Coleman

Bessie Coleman (January 26, 1892 – April 30, 1926) was the first African American woman and first Native American to hold a pilot's license. She was known for her daring in the sky and her flight tricks.

Hayden Memorial Library at Citrus College │ 1000 West Foothill Blvd. Glendora, CA 91741-1899 │ (626) 963-0323 │ A to Z Index my.citruscollege.edu Student Account Issues

Powered by Springshare LibApps Login