Public Policy Speech Research Resources - SPCH 101 (VanHorn) - Public Address - Research Guides at Hayden Memorial Library

Finding a Bill

Congress.gov
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. Research an unenacted federal bill related to your future career that is currently under consideration of Congress and has “latest action taken” during the past 18 months.
GovTrack.us
GovTrack helps everyone learn about and track the activities of the United States Congress. This is a project of Civic Impulse, LLC. GovTrack.us is not a government website. Find a Bill - Limit by Subject area and narrow even further by subcategories. Also check here to make sure your bill has not passed.
Find Legislation Begin Considered by Congress (2:44)
Short video demonstration on how to search for current legislation using Congress.gov.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Government websites like the Occupational Outlook Handbook provide current information on a wide variety of occupations. In a career profile, look for "Contacts for More Info." This information includes links to professional associations. These association websites often provide information about trends in the field. Look on association websites for news articles, advocacy issues, legislation, publications, etc.

Congress.gov: Search Tip Videos

The Legislative Process
9-Part video explaining the steps in the legislative process (approx. 30 mins total).
Using Search Terms and Facets
How to do a search on Congress.gov and refine the results with the facets (2 mins).
Explore a Bill on Congress.gov
An overview showing the information provided for a single bill, including tabs for: Summary, Text, Actions, Titles, Amendments, Cosponsors, Committees, and Related Bills (2 mins).
Creating and Using Email Alerts
Create an email alert to be notified when any action is taken on a bill you are following (2 mins).

Career & Professional Assoc. Resources

Citrus College Career Databases
In each career profile, there is an "Other Resources" section often include professional organizations and associations that will be helpful for locating legislation related to your career for the Policy Speech.

Professional associations often use their websites to communicate with their members about current issues (maybe pending legislation).

Feature articles about these issues in association publications like newsletters or journals.
Calling members to action, persuading them to contact their local or federal representatives.
These websites often link to other resources for policy, legislation, and other advocacy efforts.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Government websites like the Occupational Outlook Handbook provide current information on a wide variety of occupations. In a career profile, look for "Contacts for More Info." This information includes links to professional associations. These association websites often provide information about trends in the field. Look on association websites for news articles, advocacy issues, legislation, publications, etc.

Who is your Representative?

Find Your Representative
Not sure of your congressional district or who your member is? This service will assist you by matching your ZIP code to your congressional district, with links to your member's website and contact page.
Contacting U.S. Senators
If you have an S bill your two California Senators are: Alex Padilla & Diane Feinstein. Visit this page for contact info.
Congressional Committees (GovTrack)
Is your representative on any committees? Committees decide which bills and resolutions move forward to consideration by the House or Senate as a whole. Committee chairs have enormous influence over this process.

Citrus College Resources & Services

Citrus College Speech Lab
The Citrus College Speech Lab provides support for speech students. Students are able to receive assistance with the entire speech process from outline and writing to presenting the speech.
Citrus College Tutorial Services
This service is free to all Citrus College students where you can have your speech questions answered by highly-qualified peer tutors. Select current term link for speech tutor schedule.

Learn More About your Bill with Library Databases

Citrus College Library News Databases

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. The database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as Christian Science Monitor, Irish Times (Ireland), The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times (UK), Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC), and others. Also features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts, including: ABC News (American Broadcasting Company), ABC (Australian Broadcasting Corporation), CBC (Canadian Broadcasting Corporation), CBS News, CNBC, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, MSNBC, National Public Radio, and PBS.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Contains thousands of full-text articles from authoritative sources including pro/con viewpoints, topic overviews, court case overviews, issues. Media includes images, charts, videos, podcasts and streaming audio. Peer reviewed journals also available.
U.S. Major Dailies (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, co-exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal, and exclusive access to Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The titles offer researchers thorough and timely coverage of local, regional, and world events with journalistic balance and perspective. The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985. (Expires 6/30/24)
Vocational & Career This link opens in a new window
Trade and industry-related journals from 1985 including Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Restaurant Business, and Advertising Age.

Learn More About Your Bill with Prof. VanHorn-Recommended Websites

Congressional Budget Office
CBO is strictly nonpartisan; conducts objective, impartial analysis. Since 1975, CBO has produced independent analyses of budgetary and economic issues to support the Congressional budget process.
How a Bill Becomes a Law: Crash Course Government and Politics #9 (Video)
Brief video explaining how a bill becomes a law (7 minutes).
Majority Whip
Website for the current Majority Whip. The Majority Whip is a member of the majority party’s leadership team in the Assembly or Senate, responsible for monitoring legislation and securing votes for legislation on the Floor.
OpenSecrets
Nonpartisan, independent and nonprofit, OpenSecrets is the nation's premier research group tracking money in U.S. politics and its effect on elections and public policy.
PopVox
POPVOX.com is a neutral, nonpartisan platform for civic engagement and governing.
GovTrack.us
GovTrack helps everyone learn about and track the activities of the United States Congress. This is a project of Civic Impulse, LLC. GovTrack.us is not a government website. Find a Bill - Limit by Subject area and narrow even further by subcategories.