Linking to Articles

Linking to Articles Accessible from the Hayden Memorial Library

Found the perfect article in a library database and want to share it with students in Canvas or on a personal class webpage?  Do this by creating a persistent link which will provide direct and stable access to the article. 

Persistent Links

A persistent link connects users directly to journal articles or other items in library databases. When accessing these articles from home, the user will be asked to authenticate with an active Citrus College network login before access to the article is allowed.

How to Use Persistent Links

Instructions vary slightly depending on the database company.

EBSCOhost Databases

• Search for an article in EBSCOhost then click on the article title to get to the full article
• In the "Tools" area on the right side of the page, click on  "Permalink"
• Copy the URL that displays in the pop-up box
• Paste the URL into the desired location
• Sample Link to EBSCO article 
• Link for above is: http://ezproxy.citruscollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=ED602003&site=ehost-live&scope=site

EBSCO eBooks

• Search for an eBook and click on the title to get to the full record of the page
• In the "Tools" area on the right side of the page, click on  "Permalink"
• Copy the URL that displays in the pop-up box
• Paste the URL into the desired location
• Sample Link to an EBSCO eBook
• Link for above is: http://ezproxy.citruscollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=2272424&site=ehost-live&scope=site&ebv=EB&ppid=pp_Cover
• Note the eBook Availability (one, three or unlimited simultaneous users)

Gale eBooks Databases

• Search for an article or eBook and click on the title to get to the full record of the page
• In the top toolbar, click on "Get Link"
• Copy the bookmark URL
• Paste the URL into the desired location
• Sample Link to Gale article
• Link for above is: https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX2491200136/GVRL?u=glen55457&sid=GVRL&xid=7b817c0d

JSTOR Database 

• Search for an article and click on the title to get to the full record of the page
• On the left of the article locate the "URL with Proxy" (the "Stable URL" works too)
• Copy either URL
• Paste the URL into the desired location
• Sample Link to JSTOR article

• Proxy link for above is:  http://citruscollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www-jstor-org.citruscollege.idm.oclc.org/stable/43488720

U.S. Newsstream Database (ProQuest)

• Search for an article and click on the title to get the full record of the page
• Next to the "Full Text" tab, click on "Details" tab 
• Copy the "Document URL"
• Paste the URL into the desired location
• Sample Link to U.S. Newsstream article
• Link for above is: http://citruscollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search-proquest-com.citruscollege.idm.oclc.org/docview/2083772349?accountid=40706

Other online library resources

The URL in the browser at the top of a record, will guide the user to the network login to access the resource and will prompt the user to login with campus credentials. i.e. Salem Books