Welcome

If you have a question about library services or need support, you can contact us by email or chat during library business hours. 

Email Us!

EmailEmail a librarian. We try to respond within two business days. If you need faster assistance, please use our Chat service.  

Chat with us! 

ChatChat with a librarian. If you don't get a response right away, the librarian is probably helping someone else. You can submit a question for follow up if that occurs. 

Text Us! 

Text MessageText a Librarian at 626-600-2153. If you send a text after business hours, you will most likely get a reply when the library reopens. 

Request Instruction!
Zoom
Librarians provide synchronous and asynchronous library instruction via ConferZoom. Submit the Library Instruction Request Form to schedule your class(es).  

Meet with a Librarian!

Sarah Bosler

Sarah Bosler
Public Services Librarian

Elizabeth Cook

Elizabeth Cook
Instructional Design Librarian

 

Explore Research Guides

  • Explore our 115 guides on 30+ subjects. 
  • Connect your students to unique e-resources that support your content.
  • Collaborate with a librarian on a customized to a research project or assignment or created for your course.

Attribution

Thanks to City College of San Francisco for granting permission to adapt their library faculty guide. 

Image: "Welcome" by Alexander Ignatov is licensed under CC0 1.0

Maximizing Library Resources: A Guide for Faculty
During the COVID-19 closure, the Hayden Memorial Library is up and running with online services. The librarians are here to help you and your students with virtual research sessions, online research help, and more.

Library Databases

Our library databases are up and running, and can be accessed using your network credentials (same login as Canvas). Through our databases, we offer magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles. These can serve as alternate course readings (by providing students with a permalink to the item.) Library databases also contain primary sources, videos, art and photography images, and encyclopedia/reference material.

See our complete list of databases:

A mini tour of our A-Z library databases:

A demonstration on linking to library database resources in Canvas:

Media

The Hayden Memorial Library offers online videos through several databases.

Learn more on the Faculty Guide to Streaming Video (coming soon).

            Includes thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases. 
            See Login Tutorial Note to Faculty: Check Films on Demand first before assigning titles in Kanopy.
           Please use FOD if you have a choice. If you plan to have more than 60 students view a film per year,
           please submit a request for a license. 

NOTE: If you used to use a Kanopy title that is no longer available, please check Films on Demand for access. We have blocked duplicate titles in Kanopy that appear in Films on Demand. 

            Use the Advanced Search to limit by content type (video and/or audio) This collection provides over 
            20,000 video clips and over 224,000 audio resources from a variety of new sources. 

Textbooks

BookPhysical copies of reserve textbooks are not available while the Hayden Memorial
Library is closed, and we are unable to digitize them for individual use.

  • Explore Open Educational Resources (OER) 
    • OER are openly licensed, always free to access online, and can be embedded or integrated into Canvas. They can also be remixed, revised and repurposed.
    • Visiting the Citrus College OER Guide. Check out the No/Low Cost Materials section where faculty using OERs or ebooks from the library collection are listed. 

  • Explore Library eBook Collections
    • Some textbooks and supplemental readings are available online. 
    • Visit OneSearch. Filter your results by Material Type "Books" to locate complete books to supplement course readings or your current textbook.
    • The default search filter is currently "Available Online" during the campus closure. 

Images and More

undefinedYou may need images to make your content visually appealing, to better explain an idea, or to engage different modalities for students. Consider using these free and open resources, or request an image from the campus subscription collection:

  • ClipSafari - Public domain images you can freely use for personal and commercial use without attribution to the original author. 
  • CC Search - A Creative Commons tool that allows openly licensed content and public domain works to be discovered and used by everyone. Searches across more than 300 million images from multiple public repositories.
  • The Noun Project - A platform empowering the community to build a global visual language of icons and symbols that everyone can understand. 
  • Pixaby - Royalty free, high quality stock images and videos.
  • Shutterstock - Subscription-based image collection (not free or open) 
    • Faculty and staff may request images. Content from Footage, Editorial and Music not included. 
    • Email image URL(s) to External Relations and Cerise Guerrero will download the image and reply with the high-resolution version.
       
Find more open media to enhance your content. 
Hayden Memorial Library at Citrus College │ 1000 West Foothill Blvd. Glendora, CA 91741-1899 │ (626) 963-0323 │ A to Z Index my.citruscollege.edu Student Account Issues

Powered by Springshare LibApps Login