Research Guides: Evaluating News Sources (aka Stop the Spread of Fake News): Did You Know ...? How the Library Can Help You

Examples of News Databases funded by the Library

The library subscribes to numerous databases that offer full text articles from local and national newspapers. No more paywalls to go through!

U.S. Major Dailies (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, co-exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal, and exclusive access to Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The titles offer researchers thorough and timely coverage of local, regional, and world events with journalistic balance and perspective. The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985. (Expires 6/30/24)
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. The database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as Christian Science Monitor, Irish Times (Ireland), The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times (UK), Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC), and others. Also features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts, including: ABC News (American Broadcasting Company), ABC (Australian Broadcasting Corporation), CBC (Canadian Broadcasting Corporation), CBS News, CNBC, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, MSNBC, National Public Radio, and PBS.
Newswires This link opens in a new window
Full-text near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis.
Web News This link opens in a new window
Full-text near real-time access to thousands of top news feeds from around the globe. This collection includes over 14,000 feeds covering a range of business and general news topics.
EBSCOhost - Multiple Databases This link opens in a new window
Searches three or more of the 29 collections within the California Community College Pkg. For mobile access, download the EBSCO app
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Contains thousands of full-text articles from authoritative sources including pro/con viewpoints, topic overviews, court case overviews, issues. Media includes images, charts, videos, podcasts and streaming audio. Peer reviewed journals also available.

LibKey

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that facilitates access to the Libraries' full text resources as you find research on the web. LibKey Nomad provides one-click access to full text from websites like PubMed, Wikipedia and publisher pages.

Getting Started

Go to the Download LibKey Nomad website.
Click on the icon for your browser of choice and follow the prompts to add the extension. Currently, LibKey Nomad is available for the following browsers:
a. Google Chrome
b. Firefox
c. Microsoft Edge
d. Brave
e. Vivaldi
f. Safari
Choose Citrus College as your institution.

Credit: https://www.library.cmu.edu/services/libkey-nomad#:~:text=LibKey%20Nomad%20is%20a%20browser,find%20research%20on%20the%20web.

Help From A Person!

Spring 2024: The physical reserve textbook collection is accessible for in-library use. The library has e-book copies of some, but not all textbooks. Check the Owl Bookstore website to buy/lookup textbooks or download the Citrus College Mobile App to buy/sell textbooks.

	CONNECT
Chat Now!
Email: library@citruscollege.edu
Text: (626) 600-2153 Call: (626) 914-8640

clock SPRING 2024: February 21 - June 14
Mondays - Thursdays 8:00am to 8:00pm
Fridays 8:00am to 4:30pm

Saturdays & Sundays Closed

Closed
Feb. 19 President's Day
May 27 Memorial Holiday
June 19 Juneteenth Holiday

Special Hours
Mon-Thurs April 15-18 Open 8:00am-5:00pm
Friday April 19 Open 8:00am-4:30pm

Location - Download a Campus Map

1000 West Foothill Boulevard, Glendora, CA 91741

calendar Library Instruction Classes

Your Citrus College ID card is your library card. Library staff issue photo ID cards to current students, staff and faculty for free during library business hours.

Photo ID cards are required for checking out library materials. To receive a photo ID students must:

visit the Photo ID Office or Check Out Desk in the library
provide photo identification (Driver's License, passport, etc)
provide your Citrus College WingSpan Number
be currently registered with all fees paid

ID cards can be obtained 24 hours after students have registered for courses.

Please remember to always carry your Citrus photo ID with you.

All students currently enrolled in at least one credit-unit are eligible to receive a GoPass, a reusable electronic TAP sticker that attaches to the Citrus College ID card which allows students to ride Foothill Transit local bus lines, Silver Streak lines and/or the Metro bus and rail for free. The new GoPass provides unlimited free ride credits to students on Metro and participating bus lines through June 2024. The GoPass sticker can be obtained at the Campus Center Mon-Friday 8am-4:30pm. Learn more.

Books on Fake News

The Smear by Sharyl Attkisson
Call Number: 070.4 A885s 2017
The Truth Matters by Bruce Bartlett
Call Number: 070.9 B289t 2017
Fantasyland by Kurt Andersen
Call Number: 973 A544f 2017
Algorithms of Oppression by Safiya Umoja Noble (Contribution by)
Call Number: 025.04252 N747a 2018