HIST108 H - HIST 108 - History of the United States since 1877 - Research Guides at Hayden Memorial Library

Textbooks

Types of Sources

Primary Sources - A primary source is a first hand account of a topic, from people who were actually there. Examples include journal entries, newspaper articles that quote people directly involved, photographs, surveys/data, letters, speeches, and interviews.

Example of a primary source: The diary of Harry L. Frieman who served in France for the US Army during World War I

Secondary Sources - A secondary source often includes quotes from a primary source, but will put their own interpretation and analysis of the material. Examples include books about a topic, documentaries, journal articles written by people who were not direct witnesses.

Example of a secondary source: The book The Unknown Soldiers: Black American Troops in World War I

EBSCOhost - Multiple Databases This link opens in a new window
Searches three or more of the 29 collections within the California Community College Pkg. For mobile access, download the EBSCO app

Enter your keywords into the search bars. Choosing "All Text" can help broaden your search.

<null>

You can narrow your search by searching by date, peer review status, and full text options.

<null>

You can also narrow by source types, on the left hand side of the screen. This will help you determine primary vs. secondary sources.

<null>

Issues & Controversies
Example

Issues and Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
In-depth analyses of U.S. and world history issues with primary sources, editorial cartoons, images, timelines, and videos. Expanded in Sept. 2020 to include world history.

Issues and Controversies

This database allows you to search by type of source.

<null>

Streaming Media

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Master Academic Collection of streaming video covering business, economics, humanities, social sciences, science, math, nursing, health, medicine, archive films and newsreels. Core Nursing Collection includes additional content from Current Concepts and Practices Collection (Closed Captioned)
Kanopy Streaming Video Service - See Films on Demand for more This link opens in a new window
Watch thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases. See Login Tutorial FACULTY: Check Films on Demand first before assigning titles in Kanopy. Please use FOD if you have a choice.

Suggested/Potential Topics

Soul music and the Civil Rights Movement
United States occupation of Japan following WWII
Debs presidential campaign in 1912
Lynchings in the West
New Mexico statehood
Black WWII veterans
Works Progress Administration during the New Deal
Chemical weaponry in the Vietnam War
The experiences of different racial and ethnic groups during the Great Depression