What is Ready Reference?
Ready reference items include dictionaries, encyclopedias, collections of quick facts, statistics, quotations and other information that can be quickly looked at for answers.
American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language
Preeminent Internet publisher of literature, reference and verse providing students, researchers and the intellectually curious with unlimited access to books and information on the web.
ArtLex - Visual Arts Dictionary
You'll find definitions for more than 3,600 terms used in discussing art/visual culture, along with thousands of supporting images, pronunciation notes, great quotations and cross references.
Compact Oxford English Dictionary
Compact Oxford English Dictionary of Current English contains 145,000 words, phrases, and definitions.
Dictionary of Philosophical Terms
This is a concise guide to technical terms and personal names often encountered in the study of philosophy.
Dictionary of Phrase and Fable
From the Bibliomania website. A dictionary of literary sources.
FindLaw Legal Dictionary
An easily searchable law dictionary. Definitions come with an example in context.
Here is the web address for listings of companies, etc. using automated telephone systems and how to get around them and get a human being.
The most authoritative and comprehensive legal information online.
One Look Dictionaries
Meta search engine for nearly 500 Web-based dictionaries in multiple subject areas. Contains a database of words, terms, names, and acronyms.
Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science
Reference resource of library and information science terminology (maintained by Libraries Unlimited).
Online Slang Dictionary
American slang, ghetto slang, gangster slang, and English slang words from around the world. Learn thousands of real slang words or add your own. Thesaurus, maps, usage voting, offensiveness rating, and more.
The oldest and ultimate resource for looking up hip-hop slang. Currently consists of 4,736 content pages.
A dictionary of slang, webspeak, made up words, and colloquialisms. Browse our listings, or submit your own slang words to the site.
A quick glance at the index is all it takes to connect words with images. Explore 15 major themes to access more than 6,000 images and see words like never before.
Web of Online Dictionaries - World Languages
The definitive resource for dictionaries, thesauruses, word games, language, grammar and much more.
Free online dictionary, thesaurus, Spanish-English, and medical dictionaries, audio pronunciations, Word of the Day, word games, and much more.
The Fine Art Search Engine. It is an index of online museums and image archives: find out where the works of over 8000 different fine artists can be viewed online.
Connected : Internet Encyclopedia
The technical aspects of the internet
Delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. The rich combination of Encyclopedia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools.
On-line encyclopedia on mythology, folklore, and legend, containing definitions of deities, fabulous creatures and places, as well as images and stories.
Contains the complete contents of the 1906 Jewish Encylopedia. Over 15,000 articles and pictures about the Torah, history, literature, biography, geography, and more.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A freely accessible online encyclopedia of philosophy maintained by Stanford University.
World's largest and most comprehensive dictionary of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms. Also includes U.S. and Canadian postal codes.
Acronyms & Abbreviations
Database of over 12,000 acronyms from various sources.
Shows popularity of certain names through history.
Search over 15,000 names from anywhere.
Bartleby's Reference Works
An all in one place for encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works.
Bartlett's Familiar Quotations
Collection of passages, phrases, and proverbs traced to their sources in ancient and modern literature.
Concise Dictionary of First Names
Find out what your name really means or choose the name for your new baby.
Cost of Living Calculator
Compares cost of living comparison between cities.
Disasters and Emergency Preparedness
Are You Ready? An in-depth guide to citizen preparedness.
How Far is It?
Uses data from the U.S. census and a supplementary list of worldwide cities to find the latitude and longitude of two places, then calculates the distance between them (as the crow flies). It also provides a map.
How Much is That Worth Today?
Comparing the purchasing power of money in the United States (or colonies) from 1665 to any other year including the present.
How to Do Just About Everything
eHow is the world's most popular place to find step-by-step instructions on how to do just about everything.
Information Please Almanac
Online Dictionary, Internet Encyclopedia & Almanac Reference -
Searchable collection of online almanacs, dictionaries and the 5th Edition Columbia Encyclopedia online.
Little Oxford Dictionary of Quotations
Oxford has been collecting, sourcing, researching, and authenticating quotations, and has developed one of the richest language resources in the world today.
Measuring Worth: Relative Value of US Dollars
Six ways to compute the relative value of a U.S. dollar amount, 1774 to present.
Find exactly the quotation you're looking for. Get the perfect quote for any occasion, on every topic, by any author
Compare the cost of living in hundreds of U.S. and international cities.
Ask a Librarian
Citrus College Telecommunication Device for the Deaf, available 24 hours
Hayden Memorial Library at Citrus College │ 1000 West Foothill Boulevard Glendora, CA 91741-1899 │ (626) 963-0323 │ A to Z Index │ Canvas │ WingSpan │ Student Email
Powered by Springshare │ LibApps Login │ DREAMers │ FKCE │ VSC │ Survey │ Account Issues