Access World News (NewsBank)
Local, regional, national and international news sources including our own San Gabriel Valley Tribune. Print and online news sources covering politics, business, health, sports, people, more.
Business Source Premier *
(1965-; some 1922-) Accounting, economics, finance, international bus., management, marketing, country economic reports, company profiles, market research reports, and industry profiles. Daily updates.
Find the right career, explore education and training options, and build your own portfolio. Contact Reference staff for initial username and password, then create your own account.
The Career Information System career and college search. Contact Reference staff for site code ID. Then create your own account.
Films on Demand
Master Academic Collection of streaming video covering business, economics, humanities, social sciences, science, math, nursing, health, medicine, archive films and newsreels. (Closed Captioned)
Vocational & Career *
Trade and industry-related journals from 1985 including Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Restaurant Business, and Advertising Age
See also Citrus College Financial Aid or Citrus College Career/Transfer Center which links to the Student Employment Services, Job Board and Career Center Services.
Online student-transfer information system that shows how course credits earned at one public California college or university can be applied when transferred to another
California Career Resources Network (CalCRN)
This website contains resources for students, counselors, parents, teachers--anyone interested in developing the career self-management skills necessary in today's world of work. Includes CA Career Center, CA Career Planning Guide and more.
California Occupational Guides
Job descriptions and career outlook for many kinds of jobs in California.
California Careers (Money Management)
Enables students to create a budget for living an adult lifestyle, asks them what level of schooling they anticipate completing, and then allows them to explore occupations that will provide the salary needed to cover their cost of living (part of the CalCRN).
A virtual career center for California Community College Students.
Career Cornerstone Center (STEM)
Career planning resources for science, Technology, engineering, mathematics, computing and healthcare.
Career Zone (CalCRN)
A web-based career exploration system providing four easy to use career assessment tools and information on over 900 California occupations (part of CalCRN)
I Can Afford College
Find many different types of financial aid available year round at California Community Colleges that directly connect you with events in your area where you can get free professional assistance completing financial aid forms.
Keirsey's Temperament Sorter II
The most widely used personality test in the world. It is a powerful 70 question personality instrument that helps individuals discover their personality type. Find your best career fit.
Labor Market Information - California
An overview from the Employment Development Department. Career information and statistics.
Occupations, salaries, training and education required, and demand
Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH)
A classic reference about occupations from A to Z. Compiled by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Job descriptions and career outlook. Updated annually.
Descriptions of the different Meyers Briggs personality types. Also links to other personality tests.
Who Do U Want 2B?
This site includes Information on California high school and community college courses, career options, and financial assistance. It will help you make decisions about the right courses to take in community college.
Student Employment Services
Applications & Forms
Current Job Openings
Job Search Resources
- Guidelines for preparing a resume
- Outlines for resumes
- Resume action verbs
- Outline for cover letters
- Preparing for interviews
- Job search websites
America's Job Bank
This site has links to job banks for each state. The California link leads to the California Employment Development Department.
This site posts jobs, is searchable by location, and prompts for applications online. Offers paid services also, such as resume critique.
Provides occupation and industry information. America's Career InfoNet can help you identify options and plan your education.
Find seasonal jobs, such as summer counseling jobs, theme park jobs, national parks employment, ski resorts, etc.
Job search by city, allows you to email job postings to yourself.
Job Search - Knowledge Center
Career and job-search advice for new college graduates. A service of the National Association of Colleges and Employers.
The Coalition for Personal Financial Literacy ("financial smarts for students") provides a quick "reality check" quiz to see what lifestyle and career will suit you.
Browse for jobs, research careers, create a resume and career profile.
Salary Calculator (Homefair)
Calculate your next salary by searching job titles and descriptions where you live and work. Research base pay and bonus pay for your next negotiation.
Salary Calculator (NACE)
national Association of Colleges and Employers offers a salary survey data resource designed to save you time and money, and provide you with reliable and proven results- in minutes!
Salary survey data. Provides choices for finding the most accurate and up-to-date compensation information. Provides free salary tools and calculators.
A complete career resource. Research salaries, search jobs, get career advice.
Weddle's Association Directory
Professional associations and societies often operate Web-sites featuring job boards, resume banks or other employment-related services (these can include job agents, banner advertising and discussion forums for networking). This national Directory is specially designed to help you find those association sites. It lists several thousand associations from around the world by their primary professional/occupational focus and/or industry of interest and provides a link to the Web-site they operate.
APPLYING FOR JOBS
Susan Ireland, resume expert and author of The Complete Idiot's Guide to the Perfect Resume and Ready-Made Resumes Software, offers free advice and samples.
Provides free sample resumes and resume writing services, resume cover letters, help, tips and templates for great resumes.
1001 free cover letter examples and samples for consultants, career changers, and job hunters. The first and best cover letters on the Internet.
Search by industry, employer, career, location to find intern openings.
Developing tools and services to assist every student, employer and educator to better understand and optimize the work opportunities of the future.
Helps job seekers make smart career decisions through expert career advice, company rankings, MBA programs information, sample resumes, etc.
General Career & Transfer Center Links
Career Center Services
Includes links on the following topics:
- Career Counselor Favorite Resources
- Take a Career Assessment & Links
- Careers in Your Major
- Salary Surveys
- Job Search Strategies
- Researching Employers
- Interviewing Tips
- Salary Negotiation
- Military Information
- Undecided Students
- Career Exploration/Outlook
Includes link to the following topics:
- Transfer Information
- UC Transfer Agreements
- Articulation Agreements with Independents
- Associate Degrees for Transfer
- AB 540
- Event Calendar
- Online Survey
- Newsletters & Documents
- Related Areas
Hayden Memorial Library at Citrus College │ 1000 West Foothill Boulevard Glendora, CA 91741-1899 │ (626) 963-0323 │ A to Z Index │ Canvas │ WingSpan │ Student Email
Powered by Springshare │ LibApps Login │ DREAMers │ FKCE │ VSC │ Survey │ Account Issues