Article Databases - RNRS 191 - Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing - Research Guides at Hayden Memorial Library

Subscription Databases

In EBSCO, select the checkbox next to each of the databases listed below to search them all at once. (Login Required Off Campus)

Academic Search Complete *
EBSCO multi-disciplinary database for academic publications, since 1975, including peer-reviewed journals, and images.
MEDLINE *
Abstracts and indexes in biomedical, dentistry, health care system, medicine, nursing, pre-clinical sciences and more. Annual in Dec.
Alt HealthWatch *
EBSCO health care and wellness journals from 1990 covering complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care.
Health Source Consumer *
Topics include behavioral health, childcare, food sciences & nutrition, medical sciences, sports medicine, and general health. Includes Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.
Health Source Nursing/Academic *
Includes scholarly medical, nursing and allied health journals, including Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers generic drug patient education sheets complete with brand names

PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
A full-text archive of literature from biomedical and life sciences journals. Free registration required to save articles. No login required. Create your own username and password.

Limiters

Limit your Results:

Add keywords
Use AND, OR or NOT
Full Text
Peer-reviewed
Published Date
Special Limiters for Health Source
Special Limiters for MEDLINE

Tutorials

Using PubMed in EBP
A self-guided training course that can help you develop a clinical question, select search terms based on your PICO, and find relevant articles in PubMed.
Intro to EBP - Duke University
A series of free tutorials created by Duke University Medical Center Library introducing Evidence-Based Practice (EBP)
CASP Checklists
Checklists to help when evaluating the evidence of research articles. Has checklists for randomized control trials, systematic reviews, and more.

EBSCO Search Tips

Special Limiters for Health Source: Nursing Adademic Ed.

Special Limiters for MEDLINE

What are we looking for?

Consider the pyramid to be a visual representation of the entirety of clinical biomedical information. Resources at the bottom of the pyramid are plentiful but are not necessarily Evidence-Based in their approach or findings. Moving up the pyramid, resources are developed using more robust methodology which lessens bias and leads to stronger Evidence-Based findings but are fewer in number.