Locate Online Journal Articles with EBSCO's
Academic Search Premier, MagillOnLiterature Plus and EBSCO eBooks Databases
(other subect specific databases available) 

CONTENTS:

• A multidisciplnary database for academic publications inncluding peer-reviewed journals, and a literary database. 
• Provides full-text articles, literary works, reviewed criticial analyses, and brief plot summaries. 

INSTRUCTIONS: 

1. From the library homepage, under GUIDES, click on EBSCO. (See Remote Accesss box for username and password).

2. Add a check to MagillOnLiterature Plus and any other related databases (for 103H). Then click Continue.

3. Type the name of your work in the search box and add the author's last name to the next search box. 

2. Use the following example to design the search for criticism on your story. (NOTE: Once you get to the results page, add your author's name like the example below.) Results will automatically limit the search to full-text articles.

ENGL 103H Lyrics example

ENGL 103 poem example

3. Add search terms

NOTE: Truncation. Add an asterisk * to the root of a search term for all forms of a word, ex. symbol*=symbolic, symbolizes, symbolically, etc.

 4.  Check Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals box and click Update.

Peer-reviewed journals are publications that include only those articles that have been reviewed and/or qualified by a selected panel of acknowledged experts in the field of study covered by the journal.

 5. Click Show More for even more Search Options. Narrow by document type. 

Academic Search Premier has it's own set of Special Limiters. Under Document Type, select Literary Criticism for an even more narrow search (see below).

6. Limit by Subject.

Check boxes next to related library subject headings (author's name and title of story.)

7. Click on a relevant article. 

Some are offered in HTML, some PDF, some both. All HTML articles have Translate and Listen options.

8. Use Tools on right of article to Print, E-mail, Save, Cite and more.

Citations are sent in MLA format as a default. APA and Chicago are also available. 

For more information about citations, click the Citations tab above. 

9. NOTE: Double check citations before emailing or printing. Make sure the author of the article is not the author him/herself and that the titles are not in ALL CAPS. 

10. When emailing, leave a comment/message to yourself about why you selected the article.

Locate EBSCO eBooks

From the Library homepage click eBooks or use the box below to search the EBSCO eBook Collection.

EBSCO Search Tips 

Select a title and click eBook Full Text to view it page by page or
click Table of Contents to skip to a specific chapter.  

Use Tools area to Add to a Folder, Print, Email, Save, Cite and more!

An MLA citation is provided as the default, APA format is also available. 
See eBook Citation Examples box below for details, sometimes EBSCO citations can be slightly inaccurate.  

Check out the guided tutorials links below for EBSCOhost.