This course guide will help you find resources for the ENGL 291H research paper based on a film. This guide will also help students enrolled in other ENGL or COMM 200 courses.

Gale Literary Sources

When using the Advanced Search in Gale Literary Sources database, enter the title of the literary work in the Name of Work field and the author of the story in the Person-By or About field.

To narrow your search more, you may enter a specific topic or theme in the 3rd field (make sure you change it to Entire Document). See example.

advanced search graphic

advanced search example

limit search by example

If you decide not to use the Entire Document field, you may enter your theme or topic in the Limit Search by field within the results.

 

To learn more about search strategies using:

  • Truncation (e.g., symbol*)
  • Boolean Operators (e.g., and, or, not)
  • Keyword vs Subject

Go to http://libguides.citruscollege.edu/tips

JSTOR

JSTOR is a multi-discipline database containing subjects including economics, history, political science, sociology, humanities, social sciences, ecology, mathematics, statistics, Asian studies, archeology, African, Latin American, Middle Eastern, and American studies, languages and literature, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, women's studies, psychology, business, philosophy, art, etc. 

JSTOR main screen

JSTOR advanced search

 

Results in JSTOR can be sorted by date, discipline, and type of result. Also pay attention to the subjects listed -- they can provide additional search terms. 

JSTOR narrow results

 

EBSCOhost

EBSCOhost has the following databases that are selected for the initial search: 

  • Academic Search Complete
  • eBook Collection
  • MasterFILEComplete

In order to get more literary criticism sources, be sure to add MagillOnLiterature Plus to your search.

add magillonliterature plus graphic

ebsco search example

Once you get the results, be sure to limit your search by selecting the Full Text and Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals features. You may also adjust the Publication Date if desired.

limit to graphic

Library Databases

Go to A-Z Database List


why use library databases


tutorials

To learn more about how to use the library databases, go to Database Tutorials.


remote access

Currently registered students, faculty and staff may access the library databases off-campus by Signing In to the campus network.

Hayden Memorial Library at Citrus College │ 1000 West Foothill Blvd. Glendora, CA 91741-1899 │ (626) 963-0323 │ A to Z Index my.citruscollege.edu Student Account Issues

Powered by Springshare LibApps Login